The ‘Content’ Factor

“The world is not a wish-granting factory” –John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

 

Being ‘content’ is too often very difficult fImageor us human beings even after having every luxury under the sun. The definition of ‘luxury’ might differ from person to person but for the record by luxury, I mean having people who love us despite our cracks and everything, having a roof over our head, food to eat and all that. So what, right? Anyway, we tend to be so perpetually dissatisfied in life about everything major and minor (Why can’t things work out the way I want them to?; I wish my hair did not suck so bad; I need a new computer/phone/car; Why am I living here?; What am I doing?; I wish I weren’t so lonely; Why am I single? Why am I not single? Where are all my friends when I need them? Why can’t I have the perfect life?; Why aren’t you here with me? Etcetera etcetera) that it pretty much eats us up and we do not bother looking around hence we tend to overlook all the things that are worth it. Are we supposed to reason it out in our heads? Does it help? Is the constant need of wanting something or giving importance to people and things that aren’t worth it ever going to stop?

 

Well, after quite some analysis, I say ‘yes’.  Happiness – It’s quite the purpose to everything that we do in life – pray, fall in love, go to college, get a job, get married, have children. It is why we are so goddamn hurt when things don’t work out like we wanted them to or when our lives don’t become what we had hoped they would be. It is happiness – the nucleus to everything that we desire. What we tend to forget is that happiness is not some ambiguous state of euphoria we randomly stumble upon once we get everything we want. Happiness is a choice and yes you get to make that choice. At some point or the other, we’ve got to be grateful for everything that we have and what we don’t have, well, we don’t need it. It doesn’t depend on your next big accomplishment or achievement. Did you ever notice that? We do something, work towards it, and get it and then the joy of having it fades just like we don’t care about what we already have. Then we wait for the next big thing and the cycle continues.

The ‘pursuit of happiness’ never really ends because ‘to pursuit’ is ‘to chase’ or ‘to search’ and what we are forgetting is that – happiness is a state of mind. It’s a choice. Be wise and make your choice.

2 thoughts on “The ‘Content’ Factor

Leave a Reply

