This and That

“me: you know what sucks about love?

o.w.g.: what?

me: that it’s so tied to the truth.”

― David Levithan, Will Grayson, Will Grayson

 

‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ was a very honest and insightful read although I had a love-hate relationship with this book. It has a delightful blend of important elements of life for instance ‘love’, ‘friendship’ and ‘accepting people for who they are’. It did run deep and wide and the end of my relationship with the book was a quite happy one.

One of the things I love about certain books is that how sometimes the simplest writing can contain such great substance. Substance that matters; Substance that will make you want to think; I truly believe that that is the most important part when it comes to reading a good book – “it demands to be felt”. So this is one of those books that will make you want to speculate a lot of basic things that we usually tend to take for granted.

What I really love about the quote above is how majorly straightforward and raw it is. It is a mere thought of an average teenager yet it’s awfully true. I had been thinking about how these things work and when I came across this, I took a pause and gave it a little thought.

This might come off as random but then again it is one of those random thoughts that are often hovering in my head. Although ‘love’ is a beautiful feeling it goes hand in hand with a lot of other feelings. Love is vulnerable; it’s risky; it’s an emotional investment; it indeed is so tied to the truth.

Then again, love is what keeps you believing. It’s completely worth all of the above attachments that it brings along with it. Everybody gets hurt at one point or another but the things that hurt are the ones that matter. If they weren’t important then they would never bother you in the first place.

I shall quote now because this man gets me:

“Maybe there’s something you’re afraid to say, or someone you’re afraid to love, or somewhere you’re afraid to go. It’s gonna hurt. It’s gonna hurt because it matters.”

 John Green, Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Okay, that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

