Stillness

When I first sat down to write this, I found my head brimming with all the clichés about friendship and life. For a moment, I was lost because I realized how difficult it is to truly describe what you mean to me.

To me, a best friend is someone who gets it. I don’t really know what that means (it’s all so fuzzy) but whatever it is, you get it. I don’t have to explain each and everything out to you. You’re honest and real and you will tell me things I sometimes don’t want to hear but I need to hear. You’re not afraid to call me out on my crap or disagree with me. It’s a boon to pour my heart out to someone without weighing or measuring my thoughts. I can be silent with you. Things come naturally. They’re effortless.

A best friend is someone who will love me even when I’m not so lovable, when I’m a terrible mess. It’s a breeze to love some when they’re doing great, it’s so easy when there’s good vibes and happiness but the real challenge comes when everything is shit – when you aren’t so fun and when you fall right on your face.

You are someone I can take anywhere with me and you’ll adapt. Whether it’s a happening party or a family gathering, you’ll deal with it like a boss. We’re best friends because I can share unfit-for-society thoughts and feelings with you that are bottled up in us and you will listen to me without judgement, which is wonderful. We can go stretches without talking sometimes but I can call you up and we catch up and pick up from where we left off. It never feels uncomfortable. We’re best friends because you make me feel less alone in this psycho world. It’s amazing how often you can feel disconnected from people and how people can betray you, or fail to understand the words that are coming out of your mouth. When I see you, it’s a burst of reassurance. There you are and things are so much better.

If you’re fortunate enough, you will find a person who sees this world in the exact same way as you do. I met my best friend when we were eight and it was a done deal. She’s been all the things mentioned above, in fact a lot more. We’ve been through way too much and survived break downs, break ups, our weird phases, school and college. I know there’s so much more to come and I can’t be happier for I acknowledge the fact that we’ve got each other and when you realize you’ve got someone you can stand still with, in the midst of  the ‘merry-go-rounds’, ‘roller-coasters’ and all the other rides, the rest is assured.

Leave a Reply

